Category: Events

Curling is Back, Baby!!!

Hello Prince Rupert Curling Club Members,

After another long pause in curling due to the pandemic, many uncertainties for the upcoming season and a rather rough start for our ice crew this year, the executive is finally able to offer an update to our members.

First – An ice update:

  1. Ice plant was started on September 13
  2. Ice crew was on track for a league start up by Oct.25.  However a dehumidifier malfunction halted ice operations.
  3. Update received from ice crew at the end of last week is as follows:
    1. Nov.5 – Poly install and pump set up
    2. Nov.6 – White wash, poly removal
    3. Nov.7 – carving rings, placing lines, marking hacks
    4. Nov.8 – painting the rings
    5. Nov.9-11 – flooding and shaving
    6. Nov.12 ice will be ready to curl

Volunteers are needed for painting the rings this evening at 7 pm.

Second – League updates

The executive has a meeting tomorrow night to discuss start up dates.  Previous skips will be receiving a call this week. Keep checking email and this website for updates throughout this week.

Third – AGM/Financials

Two years of the club’s financials are currently being worked on by our accountant.  The latest update is  that they will be ready by the end of November.  The executive has asked for a rush on completing, but no promises. As soon as the executive receives the financials, the AGM and semi-AGM dates will be set. Again this will be in November some time.  Financials are of the utmost importance to have before conducting an AGM and as well to formulate/propose budget and fees for the upcoming season.

Looking forward to the start of a new season.  The forecast for this years season looks more favorable than last years.  Finally, just a reminder that proof of double vaccination will be required to play in leagues.  Spares and spectators must show proof of vaccination as well.  Members will only have to provide proof once (initially during registration)  The good news is, play on the ice has returned to normal.  Masks are not mandatory on ice during play.  Masks only need to be worn during traveling from ice to lounge, vice versa (or when going to the bathroom, etc.)  As well, once seated, masks can be removed. We are following all PHOs for our region in stage 3 of re-opening.  This is good news, as bonspiels, funspiels will definitely be happening, and events are starting to be booked again for the lounge and hall.  The club still has a Covid-19 safety plan in place.  Most important reminder, if you are sick – do not come to our house, stay in yours.

Thank you to all our members, for your patience, understanding and support over these last 2 crazy years